the Weather and what it does to me

In my head, I am already being lined up for judgement, execution style. Fudging darn it, I missed two blogging days. Breathing in… Breathing out… Okay, I refuse to chastise myself too much for this (repeated) offence. Arghhhh…!

Right. Rant over. Moving on.

The past few days have been weird, weather-wise, in that it’s been incessantly raining in the metro, which is a little unusual for January. But, alas, weather’s been nothing but unpredictable these past couple or so years – dare I say, climate change? Add the not so unusual cooler weather during January and it makes for perfect bed weather all around. And when it’s cold, I tend to the polar bear part of me and hibernate like there’s no tomorrow.. well, just a little, lest I sound like such a slob.

During my quote-unquote hibernation days, my only other conscious bodily function seems to be to read. There’s nothing like curling up in bed with a book (or, in my case, aye to the mighty e-reader) and a cuppa something warm on the bedside table. Tea or coffee’s more my thing, but occasionally I up the ante and pour myself a glass of red, with the bottle close by. I’ve realised that a little alcohol helps me when writing, with anything really… but that can be discussed another time.

Anyway, as I mentioned in a previous post, I have been fascinated with independent (read: self published) authors and their works this past year. Amongst the Amazon indie best-sellers I fortunately got my hands on was Slammed and then Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover. Man, Slammed was a surprising winner, seriously. The story was quite simple, and written in an easy manner. The characters were simple too, meaning they were real people who weren’t pretentious and who didn’t live wealthy, excessive lives in la-la-fiction land. It was one of those stories which grabbed my easily-touched heart and had me bawling at certain points. It was essentially a romance yes, which is, truthfully, my usual type of escapist reading preference. But it also tackled some serious, real-life issues that ordinary people do go through. It was just unfortunate that the main characters had to experience such dire problems at a young age (high school slash early college age).

Okay, so my book preferences often run along young adult romances/dramas, so what? *sticking my tongue out like the real adult that i am*

So yeah, Slammed and its sequel, Point of Retreat, were amazing. But this new book by Colleen Hoover, entitled Hopeless, was, beyond doubt, much more thought out, and prepared, and thus the story and its necessary subplots all tied in really nicely in the end. At the risk of making this sounding like a book report, I’ll dare say that Ms Hoover excellently weaved the unspeakable events of two family generations with the protagonist’s present time dilemmas, and joys, all in a story-telling time span of only a little more than a month. And since I am a sucker for happy endings in books, I loved how this ended in peace, but not without the characters acknowledging that, in so many words, they’ll still need to work through a lot of their shit.

I literally gasped, and teared, and muttered, and giggled in pre-teen fashion at the notable moments in the book. I could not stop turning the pages until I finished it with a sigh of relief that no one died.. Or wait, maybe somebody did! Read it and find out….

Okay, ending this post with a few quotes from the book that made me squee like a schoolgirl…

“You don’t deserve words, Sky. You deserve actions.”

“Believe me, I have no idea how to handle you, Holder. I just take you one scene at a time.”

“Fuck all the firsts, Sky. The only thing that matters to me with you are the forevers.”

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

